Dallas’s Nasher Sculpture Center Creates $100,000 Annual Prize


Nasher Sculpture Center.


The Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas has announced the creation of an annual $100,000 sculpture prize. The winner will be selected by a jury that includes some pretty fancy names in contemporary art–Phyllida Barlow, Lynne Cooke, Okwui Enwezor, Yuko Hasegawa, Steven Nash, Alexander Potts, and Sir Nicholas Serota. The award honors a living sculptor who “has had an extraordinary impact on the understanding of the art form,” according to the institution. It will be given out one year from today, on April 2, 2016.

In a statement, Nasher’s director, Jeremy Strick, said, “Today sculpture stands at the center of public discussion and debate, even as it remains a source of profound private experience,” adding, “This is truly an exceptional moment for sculpture, and an international prize recognizing outstanding contributions to the field can bring focus and depth to the conversation, highlighting the achievements of the most important artists of our time, and adding to the understanding of the significance of their work.”

If the article suppose to have a video or a photo gallery and it does not appear on your screen, please Click Here

2 April 2015 | 6:15 pm – Source: artnews.com


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.