Google quadruples Turing Award prize fund (Wired UK)

Bletchley Park Trust

In the world of computer
, the Turing Award is pretty much the best prize you
could hope to win. And the stakes have just got even higher, as Google has
quadrupled the award
fund from $250,000 (£160,000) to $1million

Google has long been
a sponsor of the award — in partnership with Intel — but this
year has taken sole responsibility for providing the prize fund and
in doing so has seen fit to make the prize more financially
rewarding for the winner.

The prize was founded in 1966 and is awarded every year by the
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to honour computer
scientists and engineers who create the systems and underlying
theoretical foundations that support development in the world of
IT. It is named after British mathematician Alan Turing and is
informally known as the Nobel Prize of computer science.

According to a press release issued by the ACM, the extra prize
money “reflects the escalating impact of computing on daily life”
and is also “intended to raise the Turing Award’s visibility”.

“The Turing Award is now funded at the monetary level of the
world’s most prestigious cultural and scientific awards and
prizes,” said ACM president Alexander Wolf in a statement. “With
the generous support of Google, we can celebrate the mainstream
role of computing in transforming the world and the way we
communicate, conduct business, and access entertainment.”

The 2014 recipient of the Turing Award is due to be announced
early next year and will be the first winner to benefit from the
extra cash. Last year the award was given to Leslie Lamport for
advances in reliability and consistency of computing systems.
Lamport, a principal researcher at Microsoft, may well now
be wishing his genius in the computer science field had shown
itself a year later.

If the article suppose to have a video or a photo gallery and it does not appear on your screen, please Click Here

14 November 2014 | 4:22 pm – Source:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.