Porn app ‘blackmails’ users by claiming they’ve watched child porn

Porn app ‘blackmails’ users by claiming they’ve watched child porn
Picture credit: Zscaler

Cybercriminals are using increasingly hard-edged tactics to steal from phone users – with a new app scaring users by claiming they’ve been watching child porn.

Zscaler reported on a new Android app – Adult Player – which takes a photo of the user, then flashes up a message claiming the FBI have seen them watching child porn.

The app claims that the device has been locked – and demands $500 (£330) to unlock it, as a ‘fine’ for having watched child porn.

The ransom screen stays in place even if the device is rebooted – although there’s a way round it by booting the gadget into safe mode.

But it’s all a scam – the FBI aren’t involved, and the app is designed by cybercriminals purely to steal money.

Zscaler says that the app is currently doing the rounds on unofficial app stores – and advises users to only download apps from trusted stores such as Google Play.

MORE: New online banking virus steals £20m from UK users – here’s how to stay safe

MORE: New ‘Rombertik’ virus destroys your PC if you try to get rid of it

‘To avoid being victim of such ransomware, it is always best to download apps only from trusted app stores, such as Google Play. This can be enforced by unchecking the option of ‘Unknown Sources’ under the ‘Security’ settings of your device.

‘This ransomware acts as a porn app named ‘Adult Player’ and lures victims who assume it is a pornographic video player. When the victim starts using it, the app silently takes a photo of the victim, which is then displayed on the ransomware screen, along with the ransom message. The app demands a ransom of 500 USD.

If the article suppose to have a video or a photo gallery and it does not appear on your screen, please Click Here

23 November 2015 | 1:18 pm – Source: metro.co.uk

[ad_2]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.