The Shard, Birmingham Library and Kings Cross win RIBA awards (Wired UK)

The Royal Institute of British Architects has announced 55 winners of its annual
RIBA awards, celebrating the best of European architecture.

Forty-four of the winners were located in the UK and twelve were
from elsewhere in Europe. British winners included John McAslan’s
Kings Cross station, Zaha Hadid’s London Aquatics Centre and Renzo
Piano’s The Shard.

Mecanoo’s Birmingham Library, Wilkinson Eyre’s museum housing
the Mary Rose and Haworth Tompkins’ Liverpool Everyman Theatre were
also commended, alongside the O’Donnel & Tuomey’s student
centre at the London School of Economics.

In Europe, prizes were given to Bjarke Ingels Group for its
Danish National Maritime Museum, Foster & Partners Marseille
Harbour, and Amsterdam’s Kraaiennest metro station, designed by
Maccreanor Lavington.

RIBA president Stephen Hodder said that the number of
smaller-scale projects included in the winners was commendable:
“This year’s RIBA National Award winners show that exceptional
architecture can be found anywhere: on any high street, in any
village or town, and with any budget.”

The Stirling Prize will be chosen from amongst these nominees
for the most significant contribution to British architecture this
year. It’ll be announced on 17 July 2014. To keep you entertained
in the meantime, here’s a gallery of some of this year’s RIBA

If the article suppose to have a video or a photo gallery and it does not appear on your screen, please Click Here

19 June 2014 | 3:54 pm – Source:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.